About Us

The Eureka Bridge across the Raccoon River in Greene County. © Mike Whye

The Eureka Bridge across the Raccoon River in Greene County. © Mike Whye

“It all began in Iowa. . .” On October 31, 1992, a group of individuals met in Ogden, Iowa. Their main concerns were the future of the Lincoln Highway, the preservation of the road, and public awareness of the historic highway. Bob Ausberger of Jefferson, IA served as LHA president 1994-1996.

Twenty-three years later there are chapters in the 13 states the road traverses as well as interest and awareness in the 13 Iowa Counties that the Lincoln Highway passes through. Forty-four people from seven states met in 1992 at the then City State Bank in Ogden. They formed the “new” national Lincoln Highway Association. The reborn Lincoln Highway Association adopted the name of an earlier group of the same name. In July of 1913, in Detroit, Michigan, a group of men approved the original Lincoln Highway Association with a slightly different purpose in mind – to establish and promote an Atlantic to Pacific improved highway.  From the very beginning, Iowa’s membership in the Lincoln Highway Association exceeded that of the other Lincoln Highway States and continues to do so as interest and membership grows.

The Iowa Lincoln Highway Association is active in preservation, education and promotional efforts relating to the Lincoln Highway which parallels modern U.S. Highway 30 in much of the state.  Long since established and now promoted as an historical highway, the entire length of Iowa’s Lincoln Highway was recently designated as the first Iowa Heritage Byway within the Iowa Byways program of which there are 11 designated byways.  The Lincoln Highway Heritage Byway is managed by Prairie Rivers of Iowa, a nonprofit organization based in Ames.  The Iowa Lincoln Highway Association works closely with the byway to further efforts to preserve and enhance the Lincoln Highway in Iowa.  If you would like to view the Lincoln Highway Heritage Byway website, click here.

Poles along the Lincoln Highway were painted red, white, and blue and we still use them as our “official” colors today. © Michael Kelly


The Iowa Lincoln Highway Association shall identify, preserve, interpret and improve access to the Lincoln Highway and its associated Sites, pursue the appropriate measures to prevent further deterioration, destruction or alteration of the remaining sections, publicize and seek public awareness of its goals and activities for preserving and developing the Lincoln Highway, Facilitate research about the Lincoln Highway, and publish a magazine for articles and news of activity relevant to the Lincoln Highway, work with local communities and businesses to promote the Lincoln Highway as a tourism destination, and be exclusively charitable and educational within the meaning of the Internal Revenue Code. 

President: Mary Helen Preston
Vice President: Dale Higgins
Secretary: Janice Gammon 
Treasurer: Joyce Ausberger
Iowa State Director: Dean Parr

Board Of Directors • County Consuls

Junction’s Lion Tree Park serves as an interpretive site for the history of the Lincoln Highway. © Francie O’Leary

Clinton County: Open Position
Cedar County: Joe Goodlove

Linn County: Rex Martin 
Benton County: Mike Kelly
Tama County: Alan Richards
Marshall County: Harlan Quick
Story County: Carroll Stokesbary
Boone County: John Fitzsimmons
Greene County: Joyce Ausberger, Dale Higgins
Carroll County: Barbara Hackfort
Crawford County: Ty Rosburg
Harrison County: Kathy Dirks
Pottawattamie County: Eddy Hedegaard

Support Staff
Director Emeritus: Bob Ausberger
Membership Coordinator: Dean Parr
Lincoln Highway National Heritage Byway Coordinator: Jeanie Hau
Newsletter Editor/Advertising Contact: Mary Preston
Newsletter Distribution Team: Dean and Jeannie Parr
Artist in Residence: John Fitzsimmons
Noble Sojourner: Lyell Henry
Jeff Benson Memorial
A fund has been established at the Story County Community Foundation in order to help fund the Jeff Benson Family Iowa Lincoln Highway Endowment. This is an Endow Iowa fund, which allows Iowa taxpayers to take a tax credit equal to 25% of a gift in addition to the normal federal deduction for charitable gifts.

This fund was set up by Jeff’s loved ones who wanted to honor his memory by utilizing an innovative program to give back to something that he was passionate about and that reflected his values. For more information please visit this webpage

Lincoln Highway Art

The Lincoln Highway Association has an artist in residence, John Fitzsimmons, also known as Lincoln Highway Johnny. Learn more about him and check out his work by visiting his website: lincolnhighwayjohnny.wordpress.com.